The Scientists: A Family Romance

Marco Roth (Author)
Usually delivers within 2 weeks.

Description

'Marco Roth's book about his father is a farewell to a bygone culture - polygot, intellectual, Europhile, psychoanalytic - and simultaneously a renewal of that culture. It's moving, tough-minded, and distinctive, a memoir the likes of which nobody else could write.' Benjamin Kunkel, author of Indecision With the precociousness expected of the only child of a doctor and a classical musician - from the time he could get his toddler tongue to pronounce a word like 'deoxyribonucleic acid' or recite a French poem - Marco Roth was able to share his parents' New York, a world centered around house concerts, a private library of literary classics, and dinner discussions of the latest advances in medicine. That world ended when his father began to suffer the worst effects of the AIDS virus that had infected him in the early 1980s. What this family would not talk about for years came to dominate the lives of its surviving members, often in unexpected ways. The Scientists is a story of how we first learn from our parents and how we then learn to see them as separate individuals; it's a story of how preciousness can slow us down when it comes to understanding our desires and other people's. A memoir of parents and children in the tradition of Edmund Gosse, Henry Adams and J. R. Ackerley, The Scientists grapples with a troubled and emotional inheritance, in a style that is both elegiac and defiant.

Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.36
Publisher
Union Books
Publish Date
20 June 2013
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781908526205
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.