A Place of Execution

Val McDermid (Author)
Available

Description

A riveting psychological thriller from the Number One bestselling Queen of crime fiction - Val McDermid.

In the Peak District village of Scardale, thirteen-year-old girls didn't just run away. So when Alison Carter vanished in the winter of '63, everyone knew it was a murder.

Catherine Heathcote remembers the case well. A child herself when Alison vanished, decades on she still recalls the sense of fear as parents kept their children close, terrified of strangers.

Now a journalist, she persuades DI George Bennett to speak of the hunt for Alison, the tantalizing leads and harrowing dead ends. But when a fresh lead emerges, Bennett tries to stop the story - plunging Catherine into a world of buried secrets and revelations.

'One of the all-time greats - special in every way' Lee Child

'This book changed everything I thought I knew about crime fiction' Belinda Bauer, bestselling author of Snap

'Every now and then, a writer transforms the landscape of the literary canon: Val McDermid is one such writer' Fiona Cummins, bestselling author of Rattle

'Just mesmerizing' Joseph Knox, bestselling author of Sirens

'A brilliant book' Holly Watt, award winning author of To the Lions

'From the first pages, we know we're in the hands of a master ' Jeffrey Deaver

'Beautifully written' Daily Telegraph

'One of the best detective stories I've read' Ruth Rendell

'Possibly the best McDermid has written' Sunday Telegraph

Perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Elly Griffiths and Lynda La Plante.

Product Details

Price
£7.99  £7.43
Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date
11 June 2020
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780008373160

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.