Babes in the Wood: The Witches of Woodville 2

(Author)
Pre-Order   Ships 28 October 2021

Description

'ACE. Smart and funny and written so warmly. It's an absolutely smashing read' - Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World

The Witches of Woodville Part 2

July, 1940


In a quiet village in rural Kent, a magical mystery leads to murder . . .

Woodville has returned to 'normal' after the departure of the Crow Folk. The villagers put out fires from aircraft shot down in the Battle of Britain, and Faye Bright discovers that magic can be just as dangerous as any weapon.

The arrival of a trio of Jewish children fleeing the Nazis brings the fight for Europe to the village. When their guardian is found dead, Faye must play nanny to the terrified children while gathering clues to uncover a dark magic that threatens to change the course of the war. And she must do it quickly - the children have seen too much and someone wants them silenced for good.

For fans of Lev Grossman and Terry Pratchett c omes the second novel in this delightful trilogy of war, mystery and a little bit of magic . . .

Praise for The Crow Folk

'Swept me straight back to days of losing myself in Diana Wynne Jones novels, and getting lost in truly absorbing, sometimes scary, sometimes emotive adventure with its roots in folklore and history. A story that is full of magic and delight that will thrill readers of any age' - Rowan Coleman, author of The Girl at the Window

'Stay has brewed a cracking blend of charm and creepiness in The Crow Folk . A rip-roaring tale of bravery and witchcraft on the wartime home front, expertly told with lashings of wit and warmth' - Pernille Hughes, author of Probably the Best Kiss in the World

'A delightful mash-up of Dad's Army and Charmed . An absolute treat' - CK McDonnell, author of Stranger Times

'Warm, witty, witchy wartime fun. With Mark Stay as writer you're always guaranteed a magical read' - Julie Wassmer, author of the Whitstable Pearl Mysteries

'You'll love it: Doctor Who meets Worzel Gummidge ' - Lorna Cook, author of The Forgotten Village

'A jolly romp with witches, demons, and bellringing. Pratchett fans will enjoy this, and Faye is a feisty and fun hero. Dad's Army meets Witches of Eastwick ' - Ian W Sainsbury

Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.36
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781471197994
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.