Barn Club: A Tale of Forgotten Elm Trees, Traditional Craft and Community Spirit

Description

'A joyful reminder of why nature, being outside, being together and creating beauty is so good for the soul.' Kate Humble, broadcaster and author of A Year of Living Simply

Natural history meets traditional hand craft in this celebration of the elm tree and community spirit.

Perfect for fans of Norwegian Wood and the Hidden Life of Trees.

Barn Club calls on us to discover our landscapes more intimately and to explore the joys of making beautiful things by hand, together.

When renowned craftsman Robert Somerville moved to Hertfordshire, in southern England, he discovered an unexpected landscape rich with wildlife and elm trees. Nestled within London's commuter belt, this wooded farmland inspired Somerville, a lifelong woodworker, to revive the ancient tradition of hand-raising barns.

Barn Club follows the building of Carley Barn, over the course of one year. Volunteers from all walks of life joined Barn Club, inspired to learn this ancient skill of building elm barns by hand, at its own quiet pace and in the company of others, while using timber from the local woods.

The tale of the elm tree in its landscape is central to Barn Club. Its natural history, historic importance and remarkable survival make for a fascinating story. This is a tale of forgotten trees, a local landscape and an ancient craft.

This book features 16 pages of colour photographs, and black and white line drawings of techniques and traditional timber frame barns feature throughout.

Product Details

Price
£20.00  £18.60
Publisher
Chelsea Green Publishing Co
Publish Date
25 February 2021
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781603589666

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate