Bonny & Read: The stunning new feminist historical novel for 2022

Available

Description

The stunning new feminist retelling of the real-life female pirates of the Caribbean

*One of The Times' Best Historical Fiction Novels of August*

'This swashbuckling debut is great fun'
THE TIMES

'A cracking read. . . Fascinating, complex characters and a real page-turner!'
LIZ HYDER, author of THE GIFTS

'Bonny and Read has it all. Adventure, atmosphere, sizzling suspense and unforgettable characters. Such a brilliant debut!'
SD SYKES, author of THE GOOD DEATH

'A deftly told tale of the complexities of friendship, female identity & freedom, featuring two remarkable women determined to define their own destinies . . . the pages turn themselves'
ANITA FRANK, author of THE LOST ONES

'What a debut! A fabulous, dangerous sea-shanty of a story'
KATIE MUNNIK, author of THE AERIALISTS

'A wonderful story, so beautifully told and absolutely gripping to the very end'
EMMA CARROLL

***

Rebels. Pirates. Women.

Caribbean, 1720. Two extraordinary women are on the run - from their pasts, from the British Navy and the threat of execution, and from the destiny that fate has written for them.

Plantation owner's daughter, runaway wife, pirate - Anne Bonny has forged her own story in a man's world. But when she is involved in the capture of a British merchant ship, she is amazed to find another woman amongst the crew, with a history as unconventional as her own. Dressed as a boy from childhood, Mary Read has been a soldier, a sailor, a widow - but never a woman in charge of her own destiny.

As their exhilarating, tumultuous exploits find fame, the ballad of Bonny and Read is sung from shore to shore - but when you swim against the tide of history, freedom is a dangerous thing...

An exuberant reimagining of the extraordinary story of Bonny & Read - trailblazing, boundary-defying, swashbuckling heroines whose story deserves to be known. Perfect for fans of Ariadne, The Mercies and The Familiars.

Product Details

Price
£18.99  £18.04
Publisher
Hodder & Stoughton
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781529395686
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.