Branwell: A Novel of the Bronte Brother

Out of Stock. Usually despatches within 2 weeks.

Description

For readers of Michael Cunningham's The Hours and Madeline Miller's Song of Achilles , this genre-bending exploration of the tragic figure of Branwell Bronte and the dismal, dazzling landscape that inspired his sisters to greatness is now available in a new edition with an introduction by Darcey Steinke.

Branwell Bronte-brother of Charlotte, Emily, and Anne-has a childhood marked by tragedy and the weight of expectations. After the early deaths of his mother and a beloved older sister, he is kept away from school and tutored at home by his father, a curate, who rests all his ambitions for his children on his only son. Branwell grows up isolated in his family's parsonage on the moors, learning Latin and Greek, being trained in painting, and collaborating on endless stories and poems with his sisters.

Yet while his sisters go on to write Wuthering Heights , Jane Eyre , and Agnes Grey , Branwell wanders from job to job, growing increasingly dependent on alcohol and opium and failing to become a great poet or artist.

With rich, suggestive sentences "perfectly fitted to this famously imaginative, headstrong family" ( Publishers Weekly ), Branwell is a portrait of childhood dreams, thwarted desire, the confinements of gender-and an homage to the landscape and milieu that inspired some of the most revolutionary works of English literature.

Product Details

Price
£14.99  £13.94
Publisher
Soft Skull Press
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781593765972

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.