Dark Horses: One of Oprah Magazine's 'Most Anticipated Books' this year

Available

Description

As selected by Jodi Picoult for #TeamWorkTuesdays'A heart-pounding, can't-take-your-eyes-off-it debut' O, The Oprah Magazine '[A] sweeping and raw story of courage, resilience, and clear-eyed grace [that] will never leave me' Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author

A dark, compelling story about one girl's fierce struggle to reclaim her life from her abusive father. Perfect for fans of My Dark Vanessa and Room .

Fifteen-year-old equestrian prodigy Roan Montgomery has only ever known two worlds: inside the riding arena, and out.

Both are ruled over by her father, who demands strict obedience in all aspects of her life. However, the warped power dynamic of coach and rider extends far beyond the stables, and Roan's relationship with her father has long been incestuous.

A ruthless ambition for the Olympics allows her to compartmentalise this dark aspect of her life, until she meets Will Howard, a boy her age, who brings everything into focus.
______

'The novel takes every narrative hurdle as nimbly and astonishingly capably as Roan does the courses she rides. This is a powerhouse' Publishers Weekly (starred review)

' Dark Horses is a pulse-pounding, unflinching tale of one teenaged girl's iron-willed determination to wrest control of her life from her abuser. Roan Mongtomery's sweeping and raw story of courage, resilience and clear-eyed grace will never leave me' Sara Gruen, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Water for Elephants

'Mihalic is an expert in creating narrative drive; the urge to keep reading is powerful ... A provoking and needed book' Booklist (starred review)

'A searing examination of love and lust, power and control, as the narrator's rising sense of self yearns to take the reins' Kirkus (starred review)

'Mihalic astutely builds her absorbing debut novel ... A narrative that reaches shattering heights. Deftly sketching the relationships here (including the relationship between horse and rider), Mihalic gives a powerful and insightful account of Roan's abuse and her path to freedom' Library Journal (starred review)

'[A] heart-pounding, can't-take-your-eyes-off-it debut novel' OprahMag.com, Most Anticipated Books of 2021

Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.36
Publisher
Welbeck Publishing Group
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781787395183

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.