Eaten Alive at a Chainsaw Massacre: The Films of Tobe Hooper

Usually delivers within 2 weeks.


The sound of chainsaws revving on 'haunted' Halloween trails has evoked untold screams since Tobe Hooper's 1974 ""The Texas Chainsaw Massacre"" hit the cinemas. Since that first take-no-prisoners horror movie, Hooper's reputation as a master of horror has been secured by his adaptations of Stephen King (""Salem's Lot"", 1978, and ""The Mangler"", 1995), his blockbuster breakthrough ""Poltergeist"" (1982) and a variety of cult hits, from the underrated ""Lifeforce"" (1985) to the remake of ""Invaders from Mars"" (1986). This reference work is divided into five parts. Part I provides a history and overview of Tobe Hooper's career. Part II offers entries (with synopses, complete credits, critical reception and commentaries) on every feature film by year of release. Part III provides chronological information on Hooper's television movies and miniseries. Part IV offers entries on his episodes from horror television series. Part V is a critical essay and conclusion which places Hooper in horror film history and compares his work to all-time greats such as Romero, Craven and Carpenter.

Product Details

McFarland & Co Inc
Publish Date

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.