Fall: A spellbinding novel of race, family and friendship by the critically acclaimed author of Attend

(Author)
Available

Description

Estranged brothers are reunited over plans to develop the tower block where they grew up, but the desolate estate becomes a stage for reliving the events of one life-changing summer, forty years earlier ... the exquisitely written, moving new novel from West Camel.

'Unfolds like a spell' Carol Lovekin, author of Ghostbird

'A deceptively complex and layered story; beautiful, traumatic and ultimately uplifting' Louise Beech, author of This Is How We Are Human

'A mesmerising portrait of toxic family relationships: one that perfectly captures a turbulent era in a changing Britain. I was gripped' Caroline Wyatt

_____________________________

Twins Aaron and Clive have been estranged for forty years. Aaron still lives in the empty, crumbling tower block on the riverside in Deptford where they grew up. Clive is a successful property developer, determined to turn the tower into luxury flats.

But Aaron is blocking the plan and their petty squabble becomes something much greater when two ghosts from the past - twins Annette and Christine - appear in the tower. At once, the desolate estate becomes a stage on which the events of one scorching summer are relived - a summer that shattered their lives, and changed everything forever...

Grim, evocative and exquisitely rendered, Fall is a story of friendship and family - of perception, fear and prejudice, the events that punctuate our journeys into adulthood, and the indelible scars they leave - a triumph of a novel that will affect you long after the final page has been turned.

Illustrations by David F. Ross

-----------------------------

**Shortlisted for the POLARI Prize**

' Fall' s characters will haunt me, its story will stay with me and I will return again and again' Katie Allen

'Beautifully written, perfectly executed, a drama that captures your heart and mind' Anne Coates

'Architecture and morality: the only subjects worth writing about, and West Camel does so exquisitely through the eyes of people profoundly affected by both' David F. Ross

'A book about families, racism and the differences that bind us or push us apart ...all bound up in West Camel's elegant prose' Michael J. Malone

'Suspense and twists keep you turning the pages, while the unfolding of complex characters and relationships draws you in' Valeria Vescina

'Both charming and conflicting ... the author's enticing storytelling has totally, utterly hooked me' Sarah Sansom

'A page-turner and a literary delight, a book you devour' Liz Loves Books

'Immersive, beautiful, and haunting ... I adored it' Live & Deadly

'A novel of mystic style and sensibility. West Camel tackles timeless themes of truth, power, family and justice ... an extraordinary read' Richard Fernandez

'A book to be embraced, a book to be kept in your heart ... West Camel writes beautifully' The Reading Closet

Praise for West Camel's debut novel Attend


'From its opening gambit to its final line, Attend demands and rewards attention' Foreword Reviews

'With its blend of dark, gritty themes and gorgeous imagery, this is a book to make you believe there's still magic in the world' Heat

'I've fallen in love with this absolutely glorious, spell-binding tale' LoveReading

'It's a genuinely pleasurable experience to encounter something couched in such alert and transparent language as West Camel's Attend ... In three hundred finely judged pages, West Camel leaves the reader eager for more from his pen' Barry Forshaw, CrimeTime

For fans of Sarah Moss, Bernadine Evaristo, Colm Toibin and Selina Godde

Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.36
Publisher
Orenda Books
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781913193928

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.