Godmersham Park: from the #1 bestselling author of Miss Austen

(Author)
Available

Description


FROM THE #1 BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF MISS AUSTEN


'So envious of anyone yet to read this. A triumph!' Nigella Lawson
'Utterly absorbing and illuminating. Written with a sure and stylish hand. Gill Hornby's best book yet.' Esther Freud
A masterly piece of storytelling' Helena Kelly
__________________________

January 1804 : Anne Sharpe arrives at Godmersham Park in Kent to take up the position of governess.

At thirty-one years old, she has no previous experience of either teaching or fine country houses. But her mother has died and she desperately needs an independent income if she is to survive.

For her new charge, twelve-year- old Fanny Austen, Anne's arrival is all novelty and excitement.

But Anne is keenly aware that her new role is an awkward one: she is neither one of the servants nor one of the family, and to balance a position between the 'upstairs' and 'downstairs' members of the household is a diplomatic chess game. One wrong move may result in her instant dismissal.

She has just begun to settle into her position when dashing Henry Austen and his younger sister Jane come to stay.
Both take an immediate interest in the pretty, clever governess who quickly becomes drawn into the above stairs life of the Austen family.

Despite her best endeavours, Anne finds that she is beginning to fall in love. But has her survival at Godmersham Park just become a good deal more precarious?
__________________________

Praise for Miss Austen and Gill Hornby . . .

'The perfect book to wrap yourself around on a dark night' STYLIST
'You can't help feeling that Jane would have approved.' OBSERVER
'Celebrates unexamined lives, sisterhood and . . . kindness and loyalty' SUNDAY TIMES
'A deeply imagined and deeply moving novel' KAREN JOY FOWLER
'It won't surprise me if this is one of the books of the year ' RTE
'An ingenious and affecting embroidery on the fact of the author's life' SUNDAY MIRROR
'Fans of Pride and Prejudice and Emma will enjoy this touching story' SUNDAY EXPRESS
' Extraordinary and heart-wrenching , Miss Austen transported me from page one' LARA PRESCOTT
'Tender and touching . . . Hornby movingly celebrates the fortitude of Cassandra' DAILY MAIL
'A moving, often funny novel. Richly imagined and spryly told', MAIL ON SUNDAY
'A wonderfully original, emotionally complex novel' IRISH EXAMINER
'[A] . . . subtle and delicate novel' WOMAN & HOME

Product Details

Price
£14.99  £13.94
Publisher
Cornerstone
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781529125894
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.