Great Houses of the South

Laurie Ossman (Author)
Out of stock. Delivery time unknown.

Description

An exquisitely photographed collection of the great houses and mansions of the South.
In the tradition of Rizzoli's Historic Houses of the Hudson Valley and Great Houses of New England , Great Houses of the South features a stunning array of newly photographed homes that range over three centuries and are distinctive examples of the architecture of the region. While in popular imagination the "Southern Style" is embodied in the classic Southern plantation house with its Greek Revival detailing-its stately white columns, wide porch, and symmetrical shape-the houses themselves are much more various and engaging, as shown in this important volume. From stately Stanton Hall of Natchez, Mississippi, one of the most magnificent and palatial residences of antebellum America; to Longue Vue House and Gardens of New Orleans, the luxurious Classical Revival-style home of Edgar and Edith Stern; to the fabled Biltmore of Asheville, North Carolina, the opulent French Renaissance-inspired chateau and Gilded Age estate of George Washington Vanderbilt, this lavish volume is comprehensive in scope and a landmark work of enduring interest to homeowners, architects, architecture historians, and all those who love fine architecture.

Product Details

Price
£37.50  £34.87
Publisher
Rizzoli International Publications
Publish Date
6 April 2010
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9780847833092

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate