Grime Kids: The Inside Story of the Global Grime Takeover

DJ Target (Author)
Available

Description

For fans of Wiley, Dizzee Rascal and Stormzy, Grime Kids is the definitive inside story of Grime.

'An essential read for anyone with the slightest interest in the birth of Grime' The Wire

'Sharp and nostalgic' The Observer

A group of kids in the 90s had a dream to make their voice heard - and this book documents their seminal impact on today's pop culture.

DJ Target grew up in Bow under the shadow of Canary Wharf, with money looming close on the skyline. The 'Godfather of Grime' Wiley and Dizzee Rascal first met each other in his bedroom. They were all just grime kids on the block back then, and didn't realise they were to become pioneers of an international music revolution. A movement that permeates deep into British culture and beyond. Household names were borne out of those housing estates, and the music industry now jumps to the beat of their gritty reality rather than the tune of glossy aspiration. Grime has shaken the world and Target is revealing its explosive and expansive journey in full, using his own unique insight and drawing on the input of grime's greatest names.

What readers are saying about Grime Kids :

'Fantastic depiction of the inception of a genre that has spanned the millennium'

'Brilliant insight in to grim music from one of the pioneers of the scene'

'This book really sums up the feeling of being a DJ perfectly'

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.29
Publisher
Orion Publishing Co
Publish Date
16 May 2019
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781409179535

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.