Hitching for Hope: A Journey into the Heart and Soul of Ireland

Available

Description

#1 Irish Times Bestseller!

A book about hope when the world was collapsing Irish Times

A modern travel tale, part personal pilgrimage, part political quest that captures the power of human resilience

"McKiernan sticks his thumb out, and somehow a healthy dose of humanity manages to roll up alongside him. . . . This book is a paean to nuance, decency and possibility." - Colum McCann, National Book Award winner and New York Times bestselling author of Let the Great World Spin and Apeirogon .

Perfect for fans of Bill Bryson

Following the collapse of Ireland's economy, social activist Ruairi McKiernan questions whether he should join the mounting number of emigrants searching for greater opportunity elsewhere. McKiernan embarks on a hitchhiking odyssey with no money, no itinerary and no idea where he might end up each night. His mission: to give voice to those emerging from one of the most painful periods of economic and social turmoil in Ireland's history. Engaging, provocative and sincere, Hitching for Hope is a testimony to the spirit of Ireland. It is an inspirational manifesto for hope and healing in troubled times.

Product Details

Price
£14.99  £13.94
Publisher
Chelsea Green Publishing Co
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781603589574
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.