Housebreaking

Available

Description

'An unforgettable portrait of a young woman at war with the world and herself. Protagonist Del can be hard to like, but she remains easy to love. This is a brilliant and exciting debut' - Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author of We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves

'Darkly funny and brimming with pathos . . . For fans of Elizabeth Strout, Ottessa Moshfegh . . . This is a humorous and life-affirming trip through the fraught, weird heart of America, exploring the granular details that make and break a life' - Sharlene Teo, award-winning author of Ponti


Following a long-standing feud and looking to settle the score, a woman decides to dismantle her home - alone and by hand - and move it across a frozen pond during a harsh New England winter in this mesmerizing debut.

Home is certainly not where Del's heart is. After a local scandal led to her parents' divorce and the rest of her family turned their backs on her, Del left her small town and cut off contact.

Now, with both of her parents gone, a chance has arrived for Del to retaliate.

Her uncle wants the one thing Del inherited: the family home.

Instead of handing the place over, and with no other resources at her disposal, Del decides she will tear the place apart herself - piece by piece.

But Del will soon discover, the task stirs up more than just old memories as relatives-each in their own state of unravelling - come knocking on her door.

This spare, strange, magical book is a story not only about the powerlessness and hurt that run through a family but also about the moments when brokenness can offer us the rare chance to start again.

Product Details

Price
£16.98  £16.13
Publisher
Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781472157522

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.