Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations, 5-Volume Set

Available

Description

*2022 Nautilus Book Award Gold Medal Winner: Ecology & Environment

*2022 Nautilus Book Award Special Honors as Best of Anthology

*#1 on Bioneers List of 15 World-Changing Books to Gift this Holiday Season!

For readers of Braiding Sweetgrass and The Overstory

From The Center for Humans and Nature, a collection in five volumes: essays, interviews, poetry, and stories of solidarity that highlight the interdependence that exists between humans and nonhuman beings

We live in an astounding world of relations. We share these ties that bind with our fellow humans-and we share these relations with nonhuman beings as well. From the bacterium swimming in your belly to the trees exhaling the breath you breathe, this community of life is our kin-and, for many cultures around the world, being human is based upon this extended sense of kinship.

Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations is a lively series that explores our deep interconnections with the living world. More than 70 contributors-including Robin Wall Kimmerer, Richard Powers, David Abram, J. Drew Lanham, and Sharon Blackie-invite readers into cosmologies, narratives, and everyday interactions that embrace a more-than-human world as worthy of our response and responsibility. These diverse voices render a wide range of possibilities for becoming better kin.

Contents:

  1. Planet : What are the sources of our deepest evolutionary and planetary connections, and of our profound longing for kinship?
  2. Place : To what extent does crafting a deeper connection with the Earth's bioregions reinvigorate a sense of kinship with the place-based beings, systems, and communities that mutually shape one another?
  3. Partners : How do relations between and among different species foster a sense of responsibility and belonging in us?
  4. Persons : Which experiences expand our understanding of being human in relation to other-than-human beings?
  5. Practice : What are the practical, everyday, and lifelong ways we become kin?

From the recognition of nonhumans as persons to the care of our kinfolk through language and action, Kinship: Belonging in a World of Relations is a guide and companion into the ways we can deepen our care and respect for the family of plants, rivers, mountains, animals, and others who live with us in this exuberant, life-generating, planetary tangle of relations.

Proceeds from sales of Kinship benefit the nonprofit, non-partisan Center for Humans and Nature, which partners with some of the brightest minds to explore human responsibilities to each other and the more-than-human world. The Center brings together philosophers, ecologists, artists, political scientists, anthropologists, poets and economists, among others, to think creatively about a resilient future for the whole community of life.

Product Details

Price
£85.00  £80.75
Publisher
Center for Humans and Nature
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781736862551
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.