Lizzie of Langley Street: the perfect wartime family saga, set in the East End of London

Available

Description

'One of the best saga writers of her time' ROSIE CLARKE

IN THE AFTERMATH OF WAR, CAN SHE SAVE HER FAMILY FROM RUIN?

Following her mother's untimely death, Lizzie Allen is facing desperate times. Her father Tom, crippled during WWI, has been left a broken and bitter man; her elder brother Vinnie is in serious trouble with the local hard man; her two younger sisters are in danger of being taken into care, and her sweetheart Danny is heading for Australia to seek his fortune.

Determined to keep her family together, yet unable to escape the poverty and degradation of the slums, heartbroken Lizzie is tricked into marriage by Danny's unscrupulous brother, Frank.

Can she escape her increasingly unhappy and violent marriage and save her family? And will she ever be reunited with her one true love, former barrow-boy, Danny Flowers?

A heart-warming and nostalgic family saga set at the heart of wartime London, from the bestselling author of MOLLY'S CHRISTMAS ORPHANS. Perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry and Rosie Goodwin.

Praise for CAROL RIVERS:

'A gripping page turner' LEAH FLEMING

'Brings the East End to life - family loyalties, warring characters and broken dreams. Superb' ELIZABETH GILL

Product Details

Price
£7.99  £7.43
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781471185212
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.