Madam

Available

Description

' Rebecca meets The Secret History . Gloriously dark, gloriously gothic ' Sara Collins, Costa First Novel Award-winning author of The Confessions of Frannie Langton

For 150 years, Caldonbrae Hall has loomed high above the Scottish cliffs as a beacon of excellence in the ancestral castle of Lord William Hope. A boarding school for girls, it promises that its pupils will emerge 'resilient and ready to serve society'.

Into its illustrious midst steps Rose Christie, a 26-year-old Classics teacher and new head of department. Rose is overwhelmed by the institution: its arcane traditions, unrivalled prestige, and terrifyingly cool, vindictive students. Her classroom becomes her haven, where the stories of fearless women from ancient Greek and Roman history ignite the curiosity of the girls she teaches and, unknowingly, the suspicions of the powers that be.

But as Rose uncovers the darkness that beats at the very heart of Caldonbrae, the lines between myth and reality grow ever more blurred. It will be up to Rose - and the fierce young women she has come to love - to find a way to escape the fate the school has in store for them, before it is too late.

Perfect for fans of Margaret Atwood and Madeline Miller, Madam is a darkly feminist tale with an electrifying cast of heroines you won't soon forget.

______________________

' Imagine if Donna Tartt and Margaret Atwood got together to write a creepy, suspenseful novel . . . Brooding and unsettling, Wynne paints a gorgeous picture that only serves to camouflage the dark secrets she's hidden within ' - Chandler Baker, author of Whisper Network

' The simmering menace and mystery kept me absolutely gripped . . . This was a smouldering slow burn of a novel that I could not put down ' - Jennifer Saint, author of Ariadne

' Strange, dark, and utterly consuming . . . I loved it ' - Katie Lowe, author of The Furies

' Chilling, eerie and very clever. I devoured it ' - Polly Crosby, author of The Illustrated Child

'A thrilling debut, reminiscent of Du Maurier . The narrative, written in precise prose with beautifully crafted characters, barrels along at pace, leaving us breathless at each twist and turn . A truly wonderful read' - Nydia Hetherington, author of A Girl Made Of Air

' I ripped through it and thoroughly enjoyed the ride . . . A highly entertaining and atmospheric read ' - Kate Sawyer, author of The Stranding

' Full of fire and light, written with a passionate intensity . . . Madam is a book that shimmers . . . It's an extraordinary achievement ' - Now a

Product Details

Price
£14.99  £13.94
Publisher
Quercus Publishing
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781529408720

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.