Mark Twain on the Move: A Travel Reader

Out of stock. Usually delivers within 4 weeks.


Mark Twain on the Move gathers the very best passages from all five of Mark Twain's travel narratives: ""The Innocents Abroad"" (1869), ""Roughing It"" (1872), ""A Tramp Abroad"" (1880), ""Life on the Mississippi"" (1883), and ""Following the Equator"" (1897). Although Twain's travel narratives were his best sellers throughout his career, modern readers are largely unfamiliar with them. Thus, readers are not only missing some of Twain's most hilarious and insightful material, they are also missing a complete understanding of a beloved literary and cultural icon.""Mark Twain on the Move"" presents the best of these works - sometimes respectful, often irreverent and outlandish - at their most lively and captures his renowned experiences as an American tourist. And they demonstrate why Twain's greatest popularity in his lifetime derived from his travel writings rather than from his novels. Twain was always entertaining and provocative while on the move and this collection captures that fabled energy for modern readers.

Product Details

The University of Alabama Press
Publish Date
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.