One Last Time

Available

Description

Anne's diagnosis of terminal cancer shines a spotlight onto fractured relationships with her daughter and granddaughter, with surprising, heartwarming results. A moving, elegant and warmly funny novel by the Norwegian Anne Tyler.

'Helga Flatland writes with such astuteness ... Her portrayal of a fractured family trying to cope through emotional personal circumstances was perfect. I devoured this in two sittings and was overwhelmed with feelings for the characters' Nina Pottell, Prima

'Sometimes you simply don't have words to express the beauty and experience of a book - this is one of them' Louise Beech

_______________

Anne's life is rushing to an unexpected and untimely end. But her diagnosis of terminal cancer isn't just a shock for her - and for her daughter Sigrid and granddaughter Mia - it shines a spotlight onto their fractured and uncomfortable relationships.

On a spur-of-the moment trip to France the three generations of women reveal harboured secrets, long-held frustrations and suppressed desires, and learn humbling and heart-warming lessons about how life should be lived when death is so close.

With all of Helga Flatland's trademark humour, razor-sharp wit and deep empathy, One Last Time examines the great dramas that can be found in ordinary lives, asks the questions that matter to us all - and ultimately celebrates the resilience of the human spirit, in an exquisite, enchantingly beautiful novel that urges us to treasure and rethink ... everything.

For fans of Elena Ferrante, Maggie O'Farrell, Mike Gayle, Joanna Cannon, Sally Rooney and Carol Shields.

_______________

'The most beautiful, elegant writing I've read in a long time. If you love Anne Tyler, you will ADORE this' Joanna Cannon

'Flatland is hailed as "the Norwegian Anne Tyler", but, for me, she writes like Flatland, which is more than good enough' Saga

'A poignant and beautifully written story ... intimate, evocative and moving' Kristin Gleeson

'Helga Flatland possesses a pen made from fluent wisdom, subtle humour and elegance' Carol Lovekin

'Absolutely loved its quiet, insightful generosity' Claire King

'So perceptive and clever' Ronan Hession

'A thoughtful and reflective novel about parents, siblings and the complex - and often challenging - ties that bind them' Hannah Beckerman, Observer

'This is a super exploration of families that I'd urge you to read for the subtle prose, with well defined characters and a strong storyline' Sheila O'Reilly

'Love the sophistication, directness and tenderness of this book' Claire Dyer

'The most clear-eyed, honest, yet sympathetic examination of relationships that I have ever read' Sara Taylor

'The author has been dubbed the Norwegian Anne Tyler and for good reason ... If you love books about dysfunctional families, you'll love this' Good Housekeeping

'In quiet prose, Helga Flatland writes with elegance and subtle humour to produce a shrewd and insightful examination of the psychology of family and of loss' Daily Express

Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.36
Publisher
Orenda Books
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781913193690

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.