Queen High: Thrilling dystopian fiction from the acclaimed author of WIDOWLAND

(Author)
Available

Description

Thrilling dystopian fiction from the acclaimed author of Widowland , 'Clever, thrilling, brilliantly imagined ... chillingly convincing post-war dystopia' (Clare Chambers). Perfect for fans of Fatherland and The Handmaid's Tale.

Britain, with the wrong queen.


1955. The Leader has been dead for two years. His assassination, on British soil, provoked violent retribution and intensified repression of British citizens, particularly women. Now, more than ever, the Protectorate is a place of surveillance and isolation - a land of spies.

The royal family has been usurped, and the widowed Queen Wallis reigns in their place. Yet still some citizens hold out hope that Elizabeth may one day return.

Every evening Rose Ransom looks in the mirror and marvels that she's even alive. A mere woman, her role in the Leader's death has been miraculously overlooked. She still works at the Culture Ministry, where her work now focuses on the outlawed subject of Poetry, a form of writing that transmits subversive meanings, emotions and signals that cannot be controlled. Therefore all Poetry is banned and Rose is appointed a Poet Hunter.

To widespread surprise, President Eisenhower is to make a state visit to the Alliance and Rose is tasked with visiting the widowed Wallis to provide a background briefing. When she arrives at the palace, she finds Wallis in a state of paranoia, desperate to return to America and enjoy the liberty of her homeland. She claims she has a secret document so explosive that it will blow the Protectorate apart - but will she dare to pull the trigger on the Alliance?

PRAISE FOR QUEEN HIGH

'Begins with a bang' CLARE CHAMBERS

'Full of twists' RED

'A gripping thriller' BEL MOONEY

'Exciting and provocative' OBSERVER

'Thrilling, subversive' JANE HARRIS

'A triumph' AMANDA CRAIG

'Enthralling' THE SUNDAY TIMES

'Ingenious' SABINE DURRANT

Product Details

Price
£16.99  £16.14
Publisher
Quercus Publishing
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781529412031

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.