Rebel with a Clause: Tales and Tips from a Roving Grammarian

(Author)
Available

Description

For fans of Gyles Brandreth, Susie Dent and Lynne Truss , an unconventional guide to the English language drawn from the American cross-country adventures of an itinerant grammarian

When Ellen Jovin first walked outside her Manhattan apartment and set up a folding table with a sign reading "The Grammar Table," it took about 30 seconds to get her first visitor. Everyone had a question for her. The Grammar Table was such a hit - attracting the attention of The New York Times , NPR, and CBS National News - that Ellen soon hit the road, travelling across the U.S. to answer questions from students, retired editors, bickering couples, and anyone else who uses words in this world.

In Rebel with a Clause she tackles what is most on people's minds, grammatically speaking-from the Oxford comma to things you were never told about dictionaries, the ubiquity of like , common errors in online dating profiles, the likely lifespan of whom , semicolonphobia, and much, much more!

Punctuated with linguistic debates from tiny towns to sprawling state capitals, this is a treasure trove for anyone wishing to shore up their prose or delight in our age-old and universal fascination with language.

Product Details

Price
£16.98  £16.13
Publisher
Hodder & Stoughton
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781529360882
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.