The Bone Flower

Available

Description

A deliciously Gothic and atmospheric novel, one for fans of Susan Hill and Andrew Michael Hurley

'A writer who never ceases to surprise' Jenny Offill, author of Weather

On a November evening in Victorian London, the moneyed but listless Edward Monteith stokes the fire at his local gentlemen's club, listening to stories of supernatural experiences and theories of life after death. His curiosity leads him to a seance, where he falls under the spell of a beautiful flower seller. But Victorian society does not look kindly on love between a gentleman of means and a Romani girl, and when he faces being cut off by his family, Edward makes a decision with horrifying consequences.

Two years later Edward is married and anticipating the birth of his first child, in a beautiful house lined with orange blossom trees. But the wrongs of the past are not so easily forgotten, and the boundary between the living and the dead begins to thin... A deliciously chilling Gothic novel, The Bone Flower is a deeply human story about guilt, betrayal and the cruelty of social expectations.

A dark, uncanny love story from the author of Polari prize-shortlisted Prodigal and The Children's Home, The Bone Flower will delight fans of Edward Carey and Essie Fox.

Product Details

Price
£14.99  £14.24
Publisher
Gallic Books
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781913547271
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.