The Book of Lost Names: The novel Heather Morris calls 'a truly beautiful story'

Kristin Harmel (Author)
Usually delivers within 2 weeks.

Description

Throughout the 1940s, forgers helped thousands of children escape Nazi France. In this instant New York Times bestseller, Kristin Harmel reimagines their story...

Perfect for readers of The Tattooist of Auschwitz , The Librarian of Auschwitz and The Book Thief .

In 1942, Eva is forced to flee Paris after the arrest of her father, a Polish Jew. Finding refuge in a small mountain town, she begins forging identity documents for Jewish children escaping to neutral Switzerland. But erasing people comes with a price, and along with a mysterious, handsome forger named Remy, Eva realises she must find a way to preserve the real names of the children who are too young to remember their own identities.

When Remy disappears and the resistance cell they work for is betrayed, the records they keep in The Book of Lost Names become even more crucial to remembering the truth...

A present day discovery of the book leaves researchers fascinated by its origins and desperate to decipher its codes. Only Eva holds the answer but will she have the strength to face old memories and help reunite those lost during the war?

If you loved The Book of Lost Names , don't miss Kristin Harmel's The Winemaker's Wife , available now. ___________

What readers are saying about The Book of Lost Names :

'A heart-stopping tale of survival and heroism centered on a female forger who risks everything to help Jewish children escape Nazi-occupied France' People Magazine , '20 Best Books to Read this Summer'

' Brilliantly imagined ... This thoughtful work will touch readers with its testament to the endurance of hope ' Publishers Weekly , Starred Review

'Harmel illuminates heartbreakingly real but forgotten stories from WW2, blended with a dash of suspense and romance ' Booklist

'A fascinating, heartrending page-turner ' Kristina McMorris, New York Times bestselling author

'This moving novel will resonate with readers who love World War II stories about courage, survival and resilience ' Bookbub

' Smart, evocative and utterly engrossing ' getliterary.com

'An engaging and evocative novel ... A testament to the resilience of the human spirit and the power of bravery and love in the face of evil' Goodreads

'One of my favourite July 2020 book releases ... The discussion of identity with themes of religion, family, selflessness, and nationhood will sit with you long after closing the last chapter' theuncorkedlibrarian.com

'It's a fabulous read that you will fly through, but not without shedding some tears' freshfiction.com

'This is a beautifully written story that captured my attention and heart from the very first pages!' Reading Between the Pages Blog

What readers are saying about The Winemaker's Wife :

' Engrossing ... A suspenseful tale of courage and sacrifice ' Pam Jenoff, NYT bestselling author

'What could be better than [...] a writer as compulsively readable as Kristin Harmel? Pick up this epic and heart-wrenching WWII tale immediately!' Alyson Noel, #1 NYT bestselling author

'Once you start reading this moving novel, you will not be able to put it down until you reach the last page' Armando Lucas Correa, bestselling author

'Written in heart-wrenching prose , The Winemaker's Wife is a complex story of love, betrayal and impossible courage ... I couldn't turn the pages fast enough' Anita Hughes, bestselling author

Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.36
Publisher
Welbeck Publishing Group
Publish Date
29 April 2021
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781787396050

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.