The Clockmaker's Wife

(Author)
Available

Description

The world is at war. And time is running out...

London, 1940. Britain is gripped by the terror of the Blitz, forcing Nell Spelman to flee the capital with her young daughter - leaving behind her husband, Arthur, the clockmaker who keeps Big Ben chiming.

When Arthur disappears, Nell is desperate to find him. But her search will lead her into far darker places than she ever imagined...

New York, Present Day. When Ellie discovers a beautiful watch that had once belonged to a grandmother she never knew, she becomes determined to find out what happened to her. But as she pieces together the fragments of her grandmother's life, she begins to wonder if the past is better left forgotten...

A powerful and unforgettable tale of fierce love, impossible choices and a moment that changes the world forever, perfect for fans of Fiona Valpy and Suzanne Kelman.

Readers love Daisy Wood:

'A ticking time-bomb of intrigue, wrapped around stark but rich descriptions of the Blitz. An unforgettable wartime debut.' Mandy Robotham, internationally bestselling author of The Berlin Girl

'I couldn't put it down. My favourite kind of historical fiction.' Reviewer

'Wonderful.' Reviewer

'Brilliantly captures the essence of 1940s England. Highly recommended!' Reviewer

Set between WWII and today, and America and England, I totally loved this outstandingly amazing book. Five stars!' Reviewer

'Daisy Wood skillfully navigates between two timelines, and her descriptions of the war are really masterful.' Reviewer

'The perfect blend of historical fiction and espionage.' Reviewer

'Beautifully written... I highly recommend this treasure!' Reviewer

Product Details

Price
£7.99  £7.43
Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780008402303

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.