The Empire Girls: A heartbreaking family saga about love and friendship in post-war Britain

(Author)
Usually despatches within 3-5 days.

Description

A heart-breaking wartime saga from the much-loved author of THE TILBURY POPPIES. Perfect for fans of Annie Murray and Donna Douglas

How far would you go to protect your family? . . .

Essex, 1950.

The Empire is a pub run by Vi, Doris's mother. When Doris falls pregnant out of marriage, she is kicked out of the house and forced to fend for herself.

Desperate to look after her daughter, Doris finds refuge in Southend and takes a job in a factory, hoping for a better life. When she finds herself cast out one night, Doris has nowhere to go but home - back to Tilbury. But she's still not welcome there and once again has to look for shelter and work.

Homeless and as a single mother, life is tough for Doris. And it becomes harder when she helps a neighbour, Claude, to find a new life in Britain. Now Doris must decide where her heart lies . . .

A heart-warming story of love, loss and friendship, set against the backdrop of post-war England

REAL READERS love Sue Wilsher's novels:

' I absolutely loved this book - it was so gripping that I read it from cover to cover in one sitting'

'This story was fabulous. It won't be my last Sue Wilsher book '

' Brilliant author - you won't be disappointed'

'Couldn't put the book down. I cannot wait for her next novel '

Product Details

Price
£7.99  £7.59
Publisher
Little, Brown Book Group
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780751564631
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.