The Enemy of Love

Pre-Order   Ships 13 April 2023

Description

1943, Wartime Italy.

Trattoria di Luca sits at the heart of the small Umbrian town of Amatino. For decades it has been run by the di Luca and Capaldi patriarchs and become a byword not only for fabulous food, but also wine from the Capaldi vineyard. But now the last of these great men is dead, Italy is consumed by war and everything must change.

Sophie di Luca has always assumed her beloved father would leave the trattoria to her, a fine chef in her own right. But in Mussolini's Italy a woman's place is strictly in the home, and Sophie's father has secretly arranged for Giorgio Capaldi to come back from Rome to take over Trattoria di Luca.

Charismatic, forceful, grieving the loss of his wife and unborn baby in an Allied bombing raid, Giorgio is in no mood to compromise with Sophie. As conflict within the family rises, Mussolini falls and the Germans march in. Life is about to become very dangerous indeed.

An atmospheric and moving novel, perfect for fans of Santa Montefiore and Victoria Hislop.

'A joyous read, which really spoke to me about the indomitability of the human spirit. A wonderful book.' Elizabeth Enfield, author of Ivy and Abe

Praise for Annabelle Thorpe: 'Unputdownable!' Claire Dyer, author of The Last Day 'A pacy, engaging tale of human weakness and of passion so overwhelming it can make fools of us all' Daily Express

Product Details

Price
£20.00  £19.00
Publisher
Head of Zeus
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781803289168
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.