The Fall and Rise of Lucy Charlton

Out of Stock. Usually despatches within 2 weeks.

Description

From the bestselling author of Miss Appleby's Academy comes a gritty, emotional saga, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Nadine Dorries and Maggie Hope.

1920, Durham. Since she was a child, Lucy Charlton has dreamed of working with her father in the family solicitor's firm. But a scandal shatters her dreams and, when her father disowns her, she finds herself on the streets, fighting for survival.

Joe Hardy has returned to London after the Great War to find his life in tatters - his father is dead and his pregnant fiancee has disappeared. Then Joe learns he's unexpectedly inherited an old river house in Durham from a stranger called Margaret Lee. With nothing left for him in London, he makes arrangements to travel north and claim it.

Lucy's determination has finally secured her a job as a legal secretary, campaigning for the rights of the poorest in society. As Joe arrives in her office to collect the keys to his new home, she promises to help him uncover information about his mystery benefactor. But before long, the past comes back to haunt them both, with shocking consequences...

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.49
Publisher
Quercus Publishing
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781780878492
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.