The Girl from the Workhouse

Available

Description

Even in the darkest of times, she never gave up hope

Staffordshire, 1911. Ginnie Jones 's childhood is spent in the shadow of the famous Potteries, living with her mother, father and older sister Mabel. But with Father's eyesight failing, money is in short supply, and too often the family find their bellies aching with hunger. With no hope in sight, Ginnie is sent to Haddon Workhouse.

Separated from everything she has known, Ginnie has to grow up fast, earning her keep by looking after the other children with no families of their own. When she meets Clara and Sam , she hopes that she has made friends for life... until tragedy strikes, snatching away her newfound happiness.

Leaving Haddon three years later, Ginnie finds work as a mouldrunner at the Potteries, but never stops thinking about her friends in the workhouse - especially Sam, now a caring, handsome young man. When Sam and Ginnie are reunited, their bond is as strong as ever - until Sam is sent to fight in WW1. Faced with uncertainty, can Ginnie find the joy that she's never had? Or will her heart be broken once again?

An emotional, uplifting and nostalgic family saga that will make you smile, while tugging on your heart-strings. Fans of Sheila Newberry, Kitty Neale and Sheila Riley will love this beautiful read.

Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.36
Publisher
Canelo
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781800321540

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.