The Golem and the Djinni

Helene Wecker (Author)
Available

Description

'One of only two novels I've ever loved whose main characters are not human' BARBARA KINGSOLVER

For fans of The Essex Serpent and The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock .

'By far my favourite book of of the year' Guardian

One cold night, two newcomers emerge onto the streets of 1899 New York, and it is never the same again.

But these two are more than strangers to this land, they are strangers to this world. From the depths of folkloric history come Chava the golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a disgraced rabbi and Ahmad, a djinni, born in the ancient Syrian desert and trapped in an old copper flask released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop.

Two companions who were never meant to be released, and never meant to meet. And when they do, their opposing natures will be sealed by a special bond, but one that is threatened by watching eyes, roaming owners and a misunderstanding world.

A glittering gem of a novel, as spell-binding as it is compelling, The Golem and The Djinni asks us what we're made of and how we can break free.

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.29
Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date
16 December 2013
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780007480197

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an affiliate