The Good Hawk (Shadow Skye, Book One)

Joseph Elliott (Author)
Available

Description

If everything was taken from you, what would you do to get it back?

Agatha patrols the sea wall with pride, despite those in her clan who question her right to be there, because of the condition she was born with.

Jaime is a reluctant Angler, full of self-doubt and afraid of the sea.

When disaster strikes, the pair must embark on a terrifying journey to a land where forgotten magic and dark secrets lurk in every shadow...

Thrilling and dark, yet rich with humour and compassion, this novel marks the debut of a wonderful new voice in fantasy and a welcome new kind of protagonist - perfect for fans of The Girl of Ink and Stars , Garth Nix and Michelle Paver.

NOMINATED FOR THE 2021 CILIP CARNEGIE MEDAL

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 HIGHLAND BOOK PRIZE

As featured on BBC Radio 2 on Jo Whiley's Storytime.

"A thrilling, strange and brutally involving debut." Guardian

"A story fantasy-loving young readers may not even know they've been waiting for." New York Times

"A wild, thrilling and sometimes dark fantasy adventure." The Week Junior

" A gripping, brutal adventure that completely swept me away." Emma Carroll

"A thrilling adventure in a beautifully imagined world. I defy you not to want to follow Agatha to the end of the known world." Frank Cottrell-Boyce

"A brave new voice in fantasy fiction." Sally Green, author of Half Bad

"I could hardly turn the pages fast enough." Holly Jackson, author of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder

"Darkly beautiful, original and brimming with hope and compassion." Kesia Lupo, author of We Are Blood And Thunder

"
A s
ublimely plotted, windswept adventure ." Cerrie Burnell, Children's TV Presenter and author of The Girl with the Shark's Teeth

" This book is a triumph." Katya Balen, author of The Space We're In

"One of the freshest, most exciting fantasies I've ever read." Sarah Ann Juckes, author of Outside

"A proper barnstormer ... This book is a charismatic charmer." SFX

"A page-turner of a book, packing a real punch with its high-level suspense." BookTrust

"Rich in atmosphere while dripping with grisly violence ... A fresh and exciting debut." Kirkus

"The chill barren setting of Scotia provides rich terrain for an unsettling wildness."
The Irish Times

Product Details

Price
£7.99  £7.43
Publisher
Walker Books Ltd
Publish Date
1 February 2020
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781406385854

Earn by promoting books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an affiliate