The Gypsy Bride: An emotional cross-cultural family saga

Katie Hutton (Author)
Available

Description

A moving and tragic cross-cultural love story for readers of Dilly Court and Kitty Neale.

Oxfordshire, 1917

Ellen is growing up in the Oxfordshire countryside. The granddaughter of a Methodist preacher and intending to marry Charlie, a boy from the local village, Ellen's life is mapped out for her.

When Charlie is killed on the battlefields of the First World War, Ellen is left heart-broken and lost. But then she meets Sam Loveridge. Mysterious and unruly, Sam is from a local Gypsy community, and unlike anyone Ellen has ever met before. Before she knows what's hit her, Ellen is swept off her feet and shown a world of passion, excitement - and true love.

But the conservative world that Ellen is from can't possibly understand or approve of their relationship, and Ellen and Sam are torn apart. Is their love strong enough overcome their cultural distances, or will the hostility and prejudice they face destroy their chance at happiness?

The Gypsy Bride is a dramatic new saga for readers of The Country Bride.

Don't miss Katie Hutton's brand-new book, The Gypsy's Daughter. Available to pre-order now.

- - - -

'The history is meticulous and fascinating and the character of Sam Loveridge is absolutely captivating - I can still hear his voice perfectly, months after finishing.' Julie Cohen, bestselling author of The Two Lives of Louis and Louise

'A family saga that had me hooked from the first page.' Lynn Johnson, author of The Girl from the Workhouse

'A richly evoked, completely involving story of love, loss and redemption. So satisfying.' Elizabeth Woodcraft, author of The Saturday Girls and The Girls from Greenway

'Katie Hutton transports you to a forgotten England in this poignant story of star-crossed lovers. A triumph!' Catherine Kullman, author of The Gracechurch Trilogy

'A moving love story, brilliantly depicting the dynamic between settled communities and gypsies.' Patricia O'Reilly, author of The First Rose of Tralee

'[A] moving and well-wrought tale' Historical Novel Society

'An enthralling and well-researched saga.' Lancashire Evening Post

'The characters and storyline were fantastic.' Netgalley reviewer

'A powerful saga full of tragedy and such sadness.' Netgalley reviewer

Product Details

Price
£7.99  £7.43
Publisher
Bonnier Zaffre
Publish Date
25 June 2020
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781838770259
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.