The Murder Weekend: Everyone has a role to play - but what's real and what's part of the game?

Available

Description

Welcome to the Crooner Estate. We know your stay will be deadly fun.

A remote hotel. A murder mystery. A missing woman. Everyone has a role to play, but what's real and what's part of the game?

Readers love this twisty and fiendishly clever novel, perfect for fans of The Guest List and Knives Out !

'This was a really good read with a fantastically creepy atmosphere . . . I really enjoyed it and now I want to take part in a murder mystery at a country hotel'
reader review

'This was a brilliantly fun book to read . . . With such an addictive plot you will enjoy this if you're a fan of locked room mysteries!'
reader review

'Wow, what a book . . . I could not put it down. Would definitely recommend'
reader review

'Really great murder mystery . . . With complicated relationships and no-one knowing what is going on, this is an addictive read. A murder mystery weekend like no other!'
reader review

'I enjoyed this well plotted and entertaining mystery. There's echo of golden age, Cluedo, and there's a gripping story'
reader review

'I loved this book. It is a fun and absorbing drama that kept me entertained. It was a one sit read for me and it worth every minute . . . deliriously creepy'
reader review
Published in the USA as All Dressed Up.
....................................


The weekend getaway at the gorgeous manor hotel should have been perfect. But Becca is freshly smarting from her husband Blake's betrayal and knows this is just an expensive attempt at an apology. She may not be ready to forgive him, but the drinks are strong, the estate is stunning, and the weekend has an elaborate 1920s murder mystery theme. She decides to get into the spirit of things and enjoy their stay. What could go wrong?

Before long, the game is afoot: famed speakeasy songstress Ida Crooner is found 'murdered', and it's up to the guests to sniff out which of them might be the culprit. Playing the role of Miss Debbie Taunte, an ingenue with a dark past, Becca dives into the world of pun-heavy clues, hammy acting, and secret passages, hoping to at least take her mind off her marital troubles.

Then, the morning after they arrive, the actress playing Ida's maid fails to reappear for her role. The game's organizer - that's Miss Ann Thrope to you - assumes the young woman's flakiness is to blame, but when snooping for clues as 'Debbie', Becca finds evidence she may not have left of her own free will.
....................................

'Classic Agatha Christie goes meta in this wish-we'd-thought-of-it premise: a real whodunnit set against the backdrop of a 1920s-themed murder mystery weekend. Think Knives Out all dolled up as The Great Gatsby ' ELLERY LLOYD


' Clue meets Shari Lapena's An Unwanted Guest . . . Such a fun read!' GEORGINA CROSS

'Jilly Gagnon's well-crafted maze of clues and shifting realities is the perfect read for fans of Lucy Foley . . . mind-bending fun!' WENDY WALKER

'Gagnon invites readers inside one seriously wicked little game with this utterly satisfying mystery' KIERAN SCOTT

'I felt as if I was in the middle of a murder-mystery game and playing along with the characters' GEORGINA CROSS

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.49
Publisher
Headline Publishing Group
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781035400379

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.