The Mystery of the Sorrowful Maiden

Kate Saunders (Author)
Pre-Order   Ships 19 August 2021

Description

'Laetitia Rodd is a warm and engaging heroine' The Times

For readers of The Thursday Murder Club, M.C. Beaton and James Runcie, The Mystery of the Sorrowful Maiden is the charming third mystery in Kate Saunder's series about Laetitia Rodd, the indomitable Victorian lady detective. In the spring of 1853, private detective Laetitia Rodd receives a delicate request from a retired actor, whose days on the stage were ended by a theatre fire ten years before. His great friend, and the man he rescued from the fire, Thomas Transome, has decided to leave his wife, who now needs assistance in securing a worthy settlement. Though Mrs Rodd is reluctant to get involved with the scandalous world of the theatre, she cannot turn away the woman in need. She agrees to take the case. But what starts out as a simple matter of negotiation becomes complicated when a body is discovered in the burnt husk of the old theatre. Soon Mrs Rodd finds herself embroiled in family politics, rivalries that put the Capulets and Montagues to shame, and betrayals on a Shakespearean scale.

Mrs Rodd will need all her investigative powers, not to mention her famous discretion, to solve the case before tragedy strikes once more. Praise for the Laetitia Rodd Mystery series:

'A witty, genteel tale of secrets, lies and hidden gold... Enormous fun' The Times 'With a well-crafted plot, an engaging protagonist, and astute nods to the literature and theological squabbles of the period, this is a perfect novel for a summer afternoon' Guardian 'A Dickensian glow pervades this immensely satisfying novel. Hugely enjoyable' James Runcie, author of the 'Grantchester Mysteries' 'Pure delight' Sunday Times

Product Details

Price
£16.98  £15.79
Publisher
Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Publish Date
19 August 2021
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781408866924
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.