The Night Portrait

Available

Description

'Historical fiction at its best' Reader review

The Tattooist of Auschwitz meets Girl with a Pearl Earring in this gripping, dual-timeline historical novel about one of Leonardo da Vinci's most famous paintings and the woman who fought to save it from the Nazis.

' Simply a masterpiece ... Fans of Kristin Hannah's Nightingale and Anthony Doerr's All the Light We Cannot See will delight in this epic novel' Lori Nelson Spielman

Between 1939 and 1943, the Nazis stole every known painting by Leonardo Da Vinci, imprisoning the original owners or worse. This is the story of the most infamous of these thefts...

Munich, 1939

In fear of the brutal Nazi regime, art conservator Edith Becker is forced to find one of the world's most priceless works of art and hand it over to none other than Hans Frank - the Butcher of Poland.
Confronted by the horrors she witnesses in Poland and risking her own life, Edith tries to hide her own small acts of resistance - and avoid the unpredictable gaze of Frank himself.

Milan, 1492

Cecilia Gallerani, the beautiful mistress of the Duke of Milan must fight for her place in the palace-and against those who want her out. Sitting before Leonardo da Vinci, she becomes the subject of his most ambitious portrait to date.

Two women, separated by 500 years, are swept up in the tide of history as one painting stands at the centre of their quests for their own destinies.

Readers absolutely love The Night Portrait :

'A truly original novel that has earned its place among my favourite works of historical fiction' Jennifer Robson

'I found myself racing through the last chapters to see how the story ended and would definitely recommend this book to historical fiction lovers ' Joanne

'Gives us so many heartbreaking and yet wonderful experiences...an excellent book that and kept me glued to the pages ' Angela

' Remarkable ...brushstrokes of magic here' Book Trail

' Breathtaking ...this isn't just another book about WWII' Sarah

'A fascinating dual timeline novel with its roots in reality...compelling' Julia

'The opulence of the Renaissance period was well juxtaposed with the death and destruction during WWII' Michele

Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.36
Publisher
HarperCollins Publishers
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9780008422714
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.