The Only Girl in the World: A Memoir

(Author) (Translator)
Available

Description

For readers of Damaged and Running with Scissors, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.

Maude still remembers the sound of the gate being locked behind her. She was three years old when they moved into the secluded manor and in the coming years, she would only be allowed out a handful of times.

Her parents belonged to a fanatical Masonic order. She followed a strict schedule of study, hard labour and endless drills designed to 'eliminate weakness', such as holding an electric fence without flinching and sitting in a rat-infested cellar.

But despite their chilling psychological control, her parents could not control her inner life. Befriending animals on the lonely estate and characters in the books she read, Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love her parents forbade.

Product Details

Price
£9.99  £9.49
Publisher
Oneworld Publications
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781786074812
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.