The Other Daughter

Caroline Bishop (Author)
Available

Description

'A fresh, original, passionate and page-turning story about women's choices and past secrets that demands to be read' Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child

You only get one life - but what if it isn't the one you were meant to live?

'When it finally arrived I was shocked to see it; to read the words Mum wrote about these women fighting for rights I know I take for granted. Mum was here. And while she was, something happened that changed the entire course of my life. Perhaps, if I can summon the courage, the next eight weeks will help me finally figure out what that was . . .'

When Jessica discovers a shocking secret about her birth, she leaves her London home and travels to Switzerland in search of answers. She knows her journalist mother spent time in the country forty years earlier, reporting on the Swiss women's liberation movement, but what she doesn't know is what happened to her while she was there. Can Jess summon the courage to face the truth about her family, or will her search only hurt herself and those around her even more?

Set across a stunning Swiss backdrop, The Other Daughter follows one woman in her search for the truth about her birth, and another desperately trying to succeed in a man's world. Perfect for fans of Tracy Rees, Elizabeth Noble and Kathryn Hughes.

'Fascinating and fast-paced, The Other Daughter had me hooked from the start. A timely reminder of how hard it is to succeed in a man's world' Rosanna Ley, author of From Venice with Love

'Well written and pacy. Full of gorgeous scenery, emotion and SUCH fascinating stuff about women's rights through the decades' Tracy Rees, author of The House at Silvermoor

'A tightly plotted and absorbing tale of one woman's journey to uncover the secrets of her birth. It beautifully fuses the personal and the political in its exploration of motherhood and women's rights, as Jess tries to reconcile herself to her own choices, and the choices made by those who came before her' Beth Morrey, author of Saving Missy

'A gripping and emotional story' Patricia Wilson, author of Greek Island Escape

'I couldn't put it down. I felt totally drawn into the story and invested in the characters. It took me into areas of Swiss history that I knew nothing about, but I felt like I was living it with the characters, not being given a history lesson. It's also the most beautiful portrait of mother-daughter relationships' Caroline Scott, author of The Photographer of the Lost

'A fascinating and beautifully told exploration of women's rights and one woman's fight to uncover the secrets of her birth. The Other Daughter is a stunning debut I loved it' Clare Empson, author of Mine

Product Details

Price
£7.99  £7.43
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publish Date
18 February 2021
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781471190056

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.