The Perilous Adventures of the Cowboy King: A Novel of Teddy Roosevelt and His Times

Available

Description

Widely considered "one of our most rewarding novelists," Jerome Charyn "has upped the ante" (Larry McMurtry) by re-creating the voice of Theodore Roosevelt through his derring-do adventures as New York City police commissioner, Rough Rider, and soon-to-be twenty-sixth president. Beginning with his sickly childhood and concluding with McKinley's assassination in 1901, Charyn positions Roosevelt as a fearless crime fighter and pioneering environmentalist who would grow up to be our greatest peacetime president. With an operatic cast, including "Bamie," his handicapped older sister; Eleanor, his gawky little niece; as well as the devoted Rough Riders; the novel memorably features the lovable mountain lion Josephine, who helped train Roosevelt for his "crowded hour," the charge up San Juan Hill. "Graced with vivid, vigorous writing" (Gerard Helferich, Wall Street Journal ), The Perilous Adventures of the Cowboy King is a rollicking work of historical fiction that will appeal to fans of Michael Chabon's The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay .

Product Details

Price
£12.99
Publisher
WW Norton & Co
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781631496660

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.