The Photographer of the Lost: A BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick

Caroline Scott (Author)
Available

Description

**Don't miss the breathtaking new novel from Caroline Scott - When I Come Home Again is available now in hardback and eBook!**

For fans of Where The Crawdads Sing and Hamnet comes a moving story about how hope and love will prevail against all odds.

'This excellent debut is a melancholic reminder of the rippling after-effects of war' The Times
'A touching novel of love and loss' Sunday Times

1921
In the aftermath of war, everyone is searching for answers.

Edie's husband Francis never came home and was declared 'missing, believed killed'. But when she receives a mysterious photograph of him in the post, hope flares and she begins to search.

Harry photographs gravesites on the Western Front, hired by grieving families. Plagued by memories of his last conversation with Francis, he has never stopped searching for his brother.

After years apart, their search brings them together. As they uncover the truth they are haunted by the past and their own complex feelings - towards Francis, and towards each other.

Are some questions better left unanswered?

Perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore, The Photographer of the Lost is a beautiful novel, inspired by real events in the wake of the First World War, about love and loss, grief and guilt, and the fleeting, fragile moments of life.

Praise for The Photographer of the Lost :

'There's only one word for this novel... and that's epic... A beautifully written must-read' heat

'A gripping, devastating novel about the lost and the ones they left behind' Sarra Manning, RED

'Terrific first novel' Daily Mail

'Scott has done an amazing job of drawing on real stories to craft a powerful novel' Good Housekeeping

'A deeply poignant and immersive novel . . . told in beautiful, elevated prose. I was completely caught up in these characters' stories' Rachel Hore

'What a wonderful debut novel . . . With a mystery at its heart and a moving, but page turning hook, I couldn't stop reading' Lorna Cook

'A sublimely rendered portrait of the search for answers amidst the chaos and devastation left behind in the aftermath of World War 1' Fiona Valpy

'A poignant hymn to those who gave up their lives for their country and to those who were left behind' Fanny Blake

'I was utterly captivated by this novel, which swept me away, broke my heart, then shone wonderful light through all the pieces' Isabelle Broom

'Beautiful, unflinching: The Photographer of the Lost is going to be on an awful lot of Best Books of the Year lists, mine included... unforgettable' Iona Grey

'Momentous, revelatory and astonishing historical fiction!' Historical Novel Society

Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.36
Publisher
Simon & Schuster Ltd
Publish Date
25 June 2020
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781471183119

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.