The Ragged Valley: A page-turning and inspiring Sheffield saga

Available

Description

From the wreckage, they must piece together new lives for themselves...

Silas , the second son of a farmer determined not to waste his life toiling for his cruel brother, arrives in town to seek his fortune. Harriet has reconciled herself to a life no better than domestic service for her austere uncle. And John Gunson , Chief Engineer at the Sheffield Waterworks Company, has just completed his crowning glory - the Dale Dyke dam.

But one stormy night, the unthinkable happens. The dam bursts. A wall of water is unleashed, destroying anything in its path.

The aftershocks of the flood reach far beyond that night, with consequences that could never have been foreseen. Fatefully brought together, Silas and Harriet must now contend with their families as new love blooms. Meanwhile, Gunson faces not only an angry community but also a court of inquest looking for a scapegoat.

Can any good come from the disaster, and will justice be seen for those who lost everything?

A thrilling saga inspired by the real events of the Great Sheffield Flood, perfect for fans of Dilly Court, Emma Hornby and Elisabeth McNeill.


Product Details

Price
£8.99  £8.54
Publisher
Canelo
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Paperback
EAN/UPC
9781800329485
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.