What a Shame: Tipped to be THE hit book of 2022

Available

Description

'Intelligent, moving and darkly comic . . . taking us deftly from serious explorations of trauma and consent to riotously funny scenes of modern life'
The Sunday Times

'A riveting read about heartbreak, shame and self-acceptance'
Red Magazine, Rising Stars of 2022

'Dazzling . . . one of those novels where you think you're exploring someone else's pain, only to realise you're exploring your own'
Heat, Read of the Week

'A really beautiful portrayal of female friendship'
Times Radio

'Absorbing and clever . . . I fell in love with Mathilda'
Cathy Rentzenbrink, author of The Last Act of Love

'Full of heart, wit and feeling'
Caroline O'Donoghue, author of Promising Young Women

'Utterly brilliant'
Otegha Uwagba, author of We Need to Talk About Money

'A glorious new talent has arrived'
Emma Gannon, author of Olive

'Poignant, haunting (and hilarious!) . . . A clear-eyed heroine for a new generation'
Sam Baker, author of The Shift

'Fizzes with energy, rage and love, burrowing deep into those experiences that define us at our core'
Jessica Moor, author of Keeper

'A brilliant debut'
Cariad Lloyd

'Will be read for years by any and all young women looking for a friend'
Scarlett Curtis, author of Feminists Don't Wear Pink (and other lies)

There is something wrong with Mathilda.

She's still reeling from the blow of a gut-punch break up and grieving the death of a loved one.
But that's not it.

She's cried all her tears, mastered her crow pose and thrown out every last reminder of him.
But that's not helping.

Concerned that she isn't moving on, Mathilda's friends push her towards a series of increasingly unorthodox remedies.
Until the seams of herself begin to come undone.

Tender, unflinching and blisteringly funny, What a Shame glitters with rage and heartbreak, perfect for fans of Emma Jane Unsworth, Dolly Alderton and Holly Bourne.

Product Details

Price
£16.98  £15.79
Publisher
Hodder & Stoughton
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781529367072

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.