Whose Woods These Are: A Novel

Usually despatches within 2 weeks.


Whose Woods These Are takes place on Thanksgiving Day in a deep river bottom in a mythical Piedmont county, Morgan, South Carolina, a creation carried over from John Lane's first novel, the award-winning Fate Moreland's Widow . The story is told in four perspectives on the possible death and certain disappearance of Old Doc, an 85-year-old land owner/deer hunter and centers on a contested property boundary shared with the resident Mitchell family who have lived on the land since colonial times. Four intricately layered stories spool out as Thanksgiving Day progresses: that of Jae Mitchell, the young hunter with deep connections to the land; deputy sheriff Caddy Galligher, Jae's former girlfriend and mother of his young child; Daren Pagano, Old Doc's scheming real estate agent step son; and Sheriff Howard, near retirement, a hunting buddy of Old Doc who believes what his deputy Caddy tells him, that Jae Mitchell wouldn't kill anybody. All have their stakes in what happened in the river bottom and as the day unfolds, nobody can locate the suspect or the victim, so the four stories turn into a search for the truth in the deep woods.

Product Details

Mercer University Press
Publish Date

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.