Costa Book Awards 2020 Category Shortlisted Titles

By The Oundle Bookshop

By The Oundle Bookshop

The overall winner of the Costa 2020 Book of the Year is The Mermaid Of Black Conch: A Love Story by Monique Roffey.


See below for the titles that were shortlisted for each category.


Category winners:

Novel Award Winner - The Mermaid Of Black Conch: A Love Story by Monique Roffey 

First Novel Award Winner - Love After Love by Ingrid Persaud

Biography Award Winner - The Louder I Will Sing: A Story Of Racism, Riots & Redemption by Lee Lawrence

Poetry Award Winner - The Historians by Eavan Boland

Children's Award Winner - Voyage Of The Sparrowhawk by Natasha Farrant


The Mermaid of Black Conch: A Love Story: Costa Book of the Year 2020

Monique Roffey

£9.99 £9.29

Novel Category Award Winner & Overall Costa Book Award 2020 Winner


Susanna Clarke

£14.99 £13.94

The Less Dead

Denise Mina

£14.99 £13.94

Love After Love: Winner of the 2020 Costa First Novel Award


£8.99 £8.36

First Novel Category Award Winner

The Family Tree

Sairish Hussain

£8.99 £8.36

The Historians

Eavan Boland

£10.99 £10.22

Poetry Category Award Winner

The Air Year

Caroline Bird

£9.99 £9.29

My Darling from the Lions

Rachel Long

£10.99 £10.22


Martha Sprackland


Voyage of the Sparrowhawk: Winner of the Costa Children's Book Award 2020

Natasha Farrant

£7.99 £7.43

Children's Category Award Winner


Darren Charlton

£7.99 £7.43

The Super Miraculous Journey of Freddie Yates

Jenny Pearson and Rob Biddulph

£6.99 £6.50

The Great Godden

Meg Rosoff

£12.99 £12.08