Great books with a strong sense of place

By Books On The Hill

By Books On The Hill

It's great to read books with a strong sense of their setting and atmosphere coming through the pages. Some of these are memoirs, others great novels.

The Miseducation of Evie Epworth: Radio 2 Book Club Pick

MATSON TAYLOR

£14.99 £13.94

Funny, heart warming and very Yorkshire! One of my favourites.

Hungry: The Highly Anticipated Memoir from One of the Greatest Food Writers of All Time

Grace Dent

£16.98 £15.79

Growing up in Cumbria in 1980's - Grace Dent's memoir is very readable

On Chapel Sands: My mother and other missing persons

Laura Cumming

£9.99 £9.29

Lincolnshire is a very atmospheric place - big skies and sandy beaches. This book takes this setting and adds the claustrophobia of secrets and things not said - an interesting mix!

Tidelands: THE RICHARD & JUDY BESTSELLER

Philippa Gregory

£8.99 £8.36

You can almost hear the marsh sucking at your feet with this first book in a new series from the queen of historical fiction

The Labyrinth of the Spirits: From the bestselling author of The Shadow of the Wind

Carlos Ruiz Zafon

£9.99 £9.29

Set in 1950's Spain this book shows a Spain very different to the country we know now. It's full of drama, intrigue and passion

Charlotte: Perfect for fans of Jane Austen and Bridgerton

Helen Moffett

£14.99 £13.94

Set in Mr Collin's parsonage on the Rosing's Estate and at Pemberely - a great book for lovers of everything Jane Austen

A Suitable Boy: THE CLASSIC BESTSELLER AND MAJOR BBC DRAMA

Vikram Seth

£12.99 £12.08

So atmospheric, full of love, hope, despair and India!