LGBTQ+ Books for Children (and their adults)

By The Children's Bookshop

By The Children's Bookshop

Sometimes it can be hard to find queer-themed books for younger children -- we've listed some of our favourites below!

 

Explore more titles here (https://bit.ly/2HV0qqU)! 

Aalfred and Aalbert

Morag Hood

£6.99 £6.50

Best described as a romcom with disaster aadvarks, Morag Hood's dry and expressive illustrations make this a delight to read aloud. A exasperated matchmaking bird frequently steals the scene. One for ages 3-6... and all their adults!

Julian at the Wedding

Jessica Love

£12.99 £12.08

One of our favourite books of 2020. A joyous celebration of love and mischief -- and features probably the loveliest wedding we've ever seen in a picture book.

The Sleeper and the Spindle

Neil Gaiman and Chris Riddell

£12.99 £12.08

If you prefer stories a little darker, this subverted fairytale has rich writing and intricate gold-flecked illustrations which entwine to make for an unforgettable graphic novel. 9+ (If you can, go for the hardback, which rustles with a thorny overlays and feels like you're opening a secret, everytime.)

The Secrets of Sam and Sam

Susie Day

£6.99 £6.50

Susie Day has been cheerfully writing queer characters into middle grade novels for years, and is hugely instrumental in everyday representation. Sam & Sam are twins (with 2 fantastically nerdy mums) dealing with the trials of year 6 -- funny, gentle, and occasionally wise. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson. Age 9+

The Whispers

Greg Howard

£6.99 £6.50

If it's atmosphere, fairies, and faintly sinister magic you're after, this beautifully-written novel will linger long after the last page. For the inclusive middle-grade fantasy we’ve all been craving. Age 10+

George

Alex Gino

£6.99 £6.50

When people look at George, they think they see a boy. But she knows she's not a boy. She knows she's a girl. A sweet and heartfelt story about embracing who you are. Age 9+