Maggie O'Farrell in Conversation, 1 December



Event: Maggie O' Farrell in conversation | 1 December, 6.30pm
We are delighted to present a live virtual event to celebrate the publication of The Marriage Portrait, Maggie O' Farrell's bestselling follow up to the Women' Prize winning Hamnet.


How to access
Anyone that buys (or has already bought) a copy of The Marriage Portrait via or directly from a participating independent bookshop will receive a digital link to the event on the day via email. (Please note that you will be able to view the event and your camera and audio will be switched off throughout. You will not be visible during the broadcast!)


The live event will take place on Thursday 1 December at 6.30pm at Alnwick Gardens, Northumberland, chaired by New Writing North’s Claire Malcolm. Maggie will be discussing the inspiration behind her beautiful novel, what she discovered about the real Lucrezia de’ Medici during her research and will shed new light on a familiar story.


Free delivery
We're pleased to offer free standard shipping on this title from now until midnight on 30 November.


Choose a bookshop to support before adding books to your basket so your chosen bookseller will earn the commission on your purchase.


Questions? Contact [email protected]

The Marriage Portrait

Maggie O'Farrell

£25.00 £23.75

Set at the heart of the treacherous political world of the Italian Renaissance, this is the masterful story of a young woman's battle for her very survival, written with all the drama and verve that made HAMNET an international bestseller.

About Maggie O’Farrell

Maggie O’Farrell is the author of the Sunday Times no. 1 bestselling novel Hamnet, which was Winner of the Women’s Prize for Fiction 2020 and the Waterstones Book of the Year, and was shortlisted for the 2021 Walter Scott Prize for Historical Fiction.  Hamnet has been translated into 32 languages, spent 38 weeks in the UK top ten and has been optioned for film by Stephen Spielberg’s Amblin productions.  She wrote the no. 1 bestselling memoir I Am, I Am, I Am, and the novels After You'd Gone, My Lover's Lover, The Distance Between Us, which won a Somerset Maugham Award, The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox, The Hand That First Held Mine, which won the 2010 Costa Novel Award, Instructions for a Heatwave and This Must Be The Place.  She is also the author of a book for children, Where Snow Angels Go.  She lives in Edinburgh.

We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.