Murder Most Readable

By Village Books Dulwich

By Village Books Dulwich

Here is a list is some of our top crime and thriller books to distract yourself from any murderous intent you may feel around your family this Christmas!

The Windsor Knot: The Queen investigates a murder in this delightfully clever mystery for fans of The Thursday Murder Club

SJ Bennett

£12.99 £12.08

Described as 'Miss Marple meets The Crown', The Windsor Knot is the first in the five-part series Her Majesty The Queen Investigates. The Queen has been living a double life ever since she was a teenager: by day she upholds her royal duties, while secretly solving cases as an amateur detective, and The Windsor Knot finds her with a case of murder to investigate. A gently entertaining and cheering read.

The Crossing Places: The Dr Ruth Galloway Mysteries 1

Elly Griffiths

£8.99 £8.36

This is the first in an absolutely brilliant must-read series which Hazel is completely addicted to (she even uses the same perfume as the protagonist)! In The Crossing Places, a child's bones are discovered on the windswept Norfolk marshes. Believing them to be ancient, the police call in Dr Ruth Galloway, forensic archaeologist. But this is no prehistoric grave. Perfect for fans of Val McDermid and Ann Cleeves.

Daylight

David Baldacci

£20.00 £18.60

Daylight is the gripping follow up to Long Road to Mercy and A Minute to Midnight. In Baldacci's latest thriller, FBI Agent Atlee Pine’s search for her twin sister, Mercy, coincides with military investigator John Puller’s high-stakes case, leading them both into a global conspiracy from which neither of them will escape unscathed.

Three Hours: The Top Ten Sunday Times Bestseller

Rosamund Lupton

£8.99 £8.36

Out now in paperback, Hazel couldn't recommend this multi-layered thriller more - not only is it gripping, it is thoughtful and thought-provoking. In Three Hours, a school in rural Somerset is under siege during a blizzard. Inside, the headmaster lies wounded in the library, while outside parents gather desperate for news. In just three intense hours, all must find the courage to stand up to evil and save the people they love.

Pine: The spine-chilling Sunday Times bestseller

Francine Toon

£8.99 £8.36

Ella raced through this thriller set in the Highlands. Lauren and her father Niall live alone in a small village surrounded by a pine forest. When a woman stumbles out onto the road one Halloween night, Niall drives her back to their house in his pickup. In the morning, she's gone. . . This is an eerie, atmospheric book full of mythology and secrets.

The Thursday Murder Club: The Record-Breaking Sunday Times Number One Bestseller

Richard Osman

£14.99 £13.94

Hazel devoured The Thursday Murder Club in a few sittings and gave it to Tracey who also couldn't put it down. It is the first in a series by TV presenter Richard Osman in which four unlikely friends meet up once a week in an otherwise peaceful retirement village to investigate unsolved murders. It's sharp, it's funny - it's just a terrific read.

Invisible Girl: Discover the bestselling new thriller from the author of The Family Upstairs

Lisa Jewell

£8.99 £8.36

Owen Pick is invisible. He’s never had a girlfriend; he’s never even had a friend. Nobody sees him. Nobody cares. But when a teenager goes missing from opposite his house on Valentine’s night, suddenly the whole world is looking at Owen. An engrossing, twisty story of how we look in the wrong places for bad people while the real predators walk among us in plain sight.

The Appeal: The Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month

Janice Hallett

£12.99 £12.08

For fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club, The Appeal is the standout debut thriller of 2021. It delivers multiple brilliant twists, and will change the way you think about the modern crime novel.

The Appeal: The Sunday Times Crime Book of the Month

Janice Hallett

£12.99 £12.08

For fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club, The Appeal is the standout debut thriller of 2021. It delivers multiple brilliant twists, and will change the way you think about the modern crime novel.

We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.