By Village Books Dulwich

The Death of Francis Bacon

Max (Author) Porter

£6.99 £6.50

This lyrical, fragmentary book from Max Porter, author of the bestselling Grief is the Thing with Feathers, is a reflection on the last days of Francis Bacon's life. In a burst of literary brilliance, Max Porter translates into seven written pictures the explosive final workings of the artist's mind.

little scratch

Rebecca Watson

£12.99 £12.08

Little Scratch tells the story of a day in the life of an unnamed woman who is processing a trauma. As the protagonist narrates the small, forgettable moments of her day – her hangover, checking her Whatsapp messages, eating a packet of hula hoops at her desk etc. – we learn of her obsession with the very big life event which she cannot forget. This is an extraordinary, playful, and at times painful narrative - a spectacular debut.

The Jane Austen Society

Natalie Jenner

£8.99 £8.36

This charming debut from a former bookshop owner is set in 1940s England and follows a group of disparate characters, all struggling in some way, who form the Jane Austen Society. We love this book - it is a gentle, heart-warming read perfect for fans of The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir and The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

My Dark Vanessa

Kate Elizabeth Russell

£12.99 £12.08

Longlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize, My Dark Vanessa is a compulsive debut about sex, power, and abuse. When Vanessa learns that the teacher she had an affair with when she was fifteen has been accused of sexual abuse by another former student, she is forced to reassess and redefine the great love story of her life.

Little Bandaged Days

Kyra Wilder

£12.99 £12.08

When Erika moves to Geneva with her husband and two young children, she finds herself struggling to adjust to the isolation, the sleeplessness, and the demands of motherhood. This painfully claustrophobic novel exquisitely tracks Erika's mental descent - a chilling read perfect for fans of Leila Slimani's Lullaby.

The Snow and the Works on the Northern Line

Ruth Thomas

£8.99 £8.36

Sybil is happy enough with her job at The Royal Institute of Prehistorical Studies and with her love life until, to her dismay, her old adversary Helen Hansen is appointed Head of Trustees and promptly seduces her boyfriend. As heard on BBC Radio 4, this is a quirky book with a wicked sense of humour - for fans of Barbara Pym, Jane Austen, and Lena Andersson.

The Girl with the Louding Voice: Shortlisted for the 2020 British Book Awards Debut of the Year

Abi Dare

£8.99 £8.36

Already a huge bestseller in the US, The Girl with the Louding Voice is a glittering debut from Abi Dare. Set in Nigeria, the story follows fourteen year old Adunni who is determined to find her 'louding voice' and live a life that she controls. A heart-breaking but inspiring story, artfully told.

Agency: THE DYSTOPIAN SUNDAY TIMES TOP TEN BESTSELLER FROM THE AUTHOR OF THE PERIPHERAL

William Gibson

£18.98 £17.65

Agency is a terrifically inventive science fiction novel which imagines a world in which Clinton became President and advancements in AI technology are impinging on politics. This is satire, social commentary and storytelling at its best.

The Last Trial

Scott Turow

£8.99 £8.36

From the bestselling author of Presumed Innocent, Scott Turow's The Last Trial recounts the final case of Kindle County's most revered courtroom advocate, Sandy Stern, as he is tasked with defending an old friend, Kiril Pafko, who he is no longer sure he can trust. An ambitious and thrilling read.

The Survivors

Jane Harper

£14.99 £13.94

From the bestselling author of The Dry comes another cracking thriller: The Survivors. When a body is discovered on the beach, long-held secrets threaten to emerge in the murder investigation that follows. A sunken wreck, a missing girl, and questions that have never washed away...We are big Jane Harper fans in the bookshop - she is a guaranteed good read.

The City of Tears

Kate Mosse

£20.00 £18.60

Kate Mosse’s The City of Tears is the second thrilling historical epic in The Burning Chambers series. A breath-taking novel of revenge, persecution and loss, this is the story of one family’s fight to stay together. We have signed, special independent bookshop edition copies of The City of Tears so just call or email us to order yours!

Luster

Raven Leilani

£14.99 £13.94

This book is being raved about and Raven Leilani is one to watch! Luster is a portrait of Edie, a 23 year old publishing assistant forced to navigate the constantly shifting landscape of sexual and racial politics as a young black woman. Razor-sharp and painfully funny, Luster is a brilliant read.

Such a Fun Age: 'The book of the year' Independent

Kiley Reid

£8.99 £8.36

Just out in paperback, Such a Fun Age is a sharp, entertaining, and biting exploration of race and privilege, set around a young black babysitter, her well-intentioned employer, and a surprising connection that threatens to undo them both.

Love After Love: Winner of the 2020 Costa First Novel Award

INGRID PERSAUD

£8.99 £8.36

Costa First Novel Award Winner 2020. Meet the Ramdin-Chetan family: forged through loneliness, broken by secrets, saved by love. Brave and brilliant, steeped in affection, Love After Love asks us to consider what happens at the very brink of human forgiveness, and offers hope to anyone who has loved and lost and has yet to find their way back.

We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.