Recent Fiction (YA and Children's) Publications from Scottish Book Trust Awardees and Fellows

By Scottish Book Trust

Recent Fiction (YA and Children's) Publications from Scottish Book Trust Awardees and Fellows

By Scottish Book Trust

The Mountain Rescue Dog

Juliette Forrest

£7.99 £7.59

A young girl heals from grief and loss in the snowy Highlands of Scotland, with the help of her loyal, trusting rescue dog. Clova's life changes forever when her mother, who was a search and rescue volunteer, dies tragically in an avalanche. Her grieving father withdraws and life at home feels lonely, until the day she meets Border Collie Tatty, a shy and frightened dog who Clova helps make bright-eyed and boisterous again. She begins to train Tatty as a search-and-rescue dog and when two local boys go missing on the moor, Tatty and Clova spring into action to track them down and save the day. But Dad is furious when he finds out Clova has been on the mountain, and sends Tatty away. Clova is heartbroken. On the first day of spring, the sudden rise in temperature after a cold snap and heavy snow causes an avalanche on the mountain - and Clova's dad is up there! The Search and Rescue team - plus Clova and Tatty - scramble onto a helicopter for a dangerous rescue mission in the growing dark - can they find Dad and save the day? Perfect for fans of The Last Bear and The Good Bear. Full of gorgeous pictures. A story to delight all young animal fans.

Friend Me

Sheila M. Averbuch

£12.99 £12.34

"What happens when an online friend becomes a real-life nightmare? Roisin hasn't made a single friend since moving from Ireland to Massachusetts. In fact, she is falling apart under constant abuse from a school bully, Zara. Zara torments Roisin in person and on social media. She makes Roisin the laughingstock of the whole school. Roisin feels utterly alone... until she bonds with Haley online. Finally there's someone who gets her. Haley is smart, strong, and shares anti-mean-girl memes that make Roisin laugh. Together, they are able to imagine what life could look like without Zara. Haley quickly becomes Roisin's lifeline. Then Zara has a painful accident, police investigate, and Roisin panics. Could her chats with Haley look incriminating? Roisin wants Haley to delete her copies of their messages, but when she tries to meet Haley in person, she can't find her anywhere. What's going on? Her best friend would never have lied to her, right? Or is Haley not who she says she is... With twists, turns, and lightning-fast pacing, this is a middle-grade thriller about bullying, revenge, and tech that young readers won't be able to put down."

Crown of Smoke

P M Freestone

£7.99

The exciting conclusion to the Shadowscent duology! A prince in hiding. An imposter regent. An empire on the brink. Rakel is travelling beyond the empire with Nisai, on a journey to finally meet her mother and the Order of Asmudtag. Meanwhile Ash, believed dead by all who knew him, must break out of his prison and warn of the dangers to come. And the empire itself is hurtling towards a civil war that's been brewing since the gods last walked the land. It's do or die. The kingdom needs you. Royalty or servant, all must take their stand. Lush, beguiling YA fantasy woven through with romance Perfect for fans of The Sin-Eater's Daughter & INK P.M. Freestone is a Scottish Book Trust Award winner Please note this book contains language more suitable for older readers.

Shadowscent: The Darkest Bloom

P M Freestone

£7.99

"A sensational debut fantasy adventure! In the empire of Aramtesh, scent has power. When disaster strikes and the crown prince lies poisoned, long-suppressed rivalries threaten to blow the empire apart. It's up to Rakel, a poor village girl with a talent for fragrances, and Ash, the prince's loyal bodyguard, to find an antidote. To succeed, the unlikely pair must uncover cryptic, ancient secrets as well as buried truths from their own pasts in an adventure that will ignite your senses. Lush, beguiling YA fantasy woven through with romance. Perfect for fans of The Sin-Eater's Daughter & INK. Sensual and lyrical writing by an exciting debut author. P.M. Freestone is a Scottish Book Trust Award winner. Please note this book contains language more suitable for older readers."

Farewell Tour of a Terminal Optimist

John Young

£7.99 £7.59

Quick-witted, sharp-tongued Connor Lambert won't take it any longer: the bullying, the secrets, the sympathy. He's been dying from cancer for years, but he’s not dead yet. He's going down fighting. Forming an unlikely friendship with fellow juvenile delinquent Skeates, the pair stage a break out and set off on a crazy tour across Scotland -- dodging the police, joy riding and extreme partying -- to find Connor's dad, an inmate at Shotts prison. But Connor's left two things behind -- the medication he needs to keep him alive, and the girl who makes living bearable. A fresh and bold debut novel full of heart, guts and raw emotion. Farewell Tour of a Terminal Optimist is a brilliantly funny, thrilling exploration of friendship, identity and mortality populated with witty, sharply drawn characters.

We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.