What We're Reading

By Village Books Dulwich

By Village Books Dulwich

We love giving recommendations so thought that we would share with you just a few of books that we have been enjoying recently. Between us all, we read widely and abundantly so there should be something for everyone!

The Nightingale

KRISTIN HANNAH

£8.99 £8.36

Hazel has been reading The Nightingale for her book group and says it's a revelation. In the novel, an old woman living in Oregon looks back on her childhood and youth in France during WWII. It is a beautifully told and powerful portrait of what it was like to be a woman during war. Although Hazel hadn't read anything by Hannah before, she intends to remedy that now - she is a real find!

Shuggie Bain: Winner of the Booker Prize 2020

Douglas Stuart

£14.99 £13.94

Hannah is reading the 2020 Booker Prize winner Shuggie Bain, the riveting and touching tale of a Glaswegian family suffering the effects of poverty and alcoholism. Set in the 1980s in a mining town decimated by Thatcherism, Shuggie Bain is the unforgettable story of a young boy hiding a painful secret and his struggling mother who dreams of a better life. A revelatory debut!

little scratch

Rebecca Watson

£12.99 £12.08

Ella is reading Little Scratch, the story of an unnamed woman who is processing a trauma. As the protagonist narrates the small, forgettable moments of her day – recovering from a hangover, checking Whatsapp messages, eating a packet of hula hoops etc. – we learn of her obsession with the very big life event which she cannot forget. This is a spectacular, powerful, and playful debut.

Russia Without Putin: Money, Power and the Myths of the New Cold War

Tony Wood

£10.99 £10.22

Hannah is our Russian expert in residence! She has been reading Russia Without Putin: Money, Power and the Myths of the New Cold War, an eloquent examination of the country outside of the Kremlin's walls. Tony Wood covers everything from opposition figures to the impact of the Obama administration to weapon sales to Assad. This is a fascinating and worthwhile read!

Under a Dark Angel's Eye: The Selected Stories of Patricia Highsmith

Patricia Highsmith

£20.00 £18.60

Sophie is a big fan of Patricia Highsmith, and this new collection collates some of her finest writing. With an introduction from Carmen Maria Machado - another masterful short story writer - this collection includes two newly discovered stories from one of the greatest writers of the twentieth century. Witty, savage and startling, Highsmith's stories are sure to keep you entertained.

A Crooked Tree

UNA MANNION

£14.99 £13.94

Sophie very much enjoyed A Crooked Tree. For fans of The Girls, this gripping coming-of-age story set in the early 80s explores the unexpected repercussions of a snap decision. When fifteen-year old Libby's mum orders her little sister Ellen to exit the car and walk the rest of the way home, neither of them can predict what will happen next. This is an atmospheric, tender and suspenseful debut.

Wilding: The Return of Nature to a British Farm

Isabella Tree

£9.99 £9.29

Tracey is reading Wilding, a landmark and award-winning ecological book by Isabella Tree. Part gripping memoir, part fascinating account of the ecology of our countryside, Wilding tells the story of 'the Knepp experiment', a pioneering rewilding project in West Sussex. It is a book about the power and beauty of nature, and about hope.

Exit: The Sunday Times Thriller of the Month

Belinda Bauer

£14.99 £13.94

Tracey is reading the new Belinda Bauer and finding it thoroughly enjoyable! When Felix Pink lets himself in to Number 3 Black Lane, he's there to perform an act of charity, but just 15 minutes later and he is on the run from the police... For fans of The Thursday Murder Club, Exit is a quirky, page-turning whodunnit from the bestselling author of Snap.

A Town Called Solace

Mary Lawson

£14.99 £13.94

Mary Lawson is one of Hazel's favourite writers. Her books are rare treats to look forward to and be savoured slowly. The landscape of Northern Ontario is the background for this tale about three people brought together by the mistakes of the past. It is exquisitely written, gripping, and darkly funny. If you're a fan do come to our online tea-party with Mary later this month.

Genius and Ink: Virginia Woolf on How to Read

Virginia Woolf

£8.99 £8.36

Ella is a huge fan of all things Bloomsbury and was delighted to hear that the Times Literary Supplement were publishing a collection of Virginia Woolf's critical essays. From Elizabethan plays to Charlotte Brontë, George Eliot and Henry James: all are here, in anonymously published pieces, in which may be glimpsed the thinking behind Woolf’s own ground-breaking work.

Rainbow Milk: an Observer 2020 Top 10 Debut

Paul Mendez

£8.99 £8.36

Hannah read Rainbow Milk in hardback and thought it was a dazzling debut. This semi-autobiographical, gripping coming-of-age story centres on 19-year-old Jesse as he comes to terms with his racial and sexual identity in the Black Country in the 1950s. A beautiful, absorbing, and visceral read, this book encompasses racism, the Windrush generation, sexual identity and love within its muscular prose.

Crooked Heart: 'My book of the year' Jojo Moyes

Lissa Evans

£8.99 £8.36

Tracey has been loving Lissa Evans. She started with Old Baggage and now is onto Crooked Heart, a black comedy set in World War II England chronicling an unlikely alliance between a small time con artist and a young orphan evacuee. Highly entertaining!

We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.