A Fire Born of Exile: A spellbinding standalone sci-fi romance and 2024 Hugo Award finalist perfect for fans of Becky Chambers

Available
4.9/5.0
21,000+ Reviews
Bookshop.org has the highest-rated customer service of any bookstore in the world

Description

'Incredible . . . This is a world of dizzying tech, gorgeous illusions and twisty political thrills - catnip for readers who enjoyed Ann Leckie's Imperial Radch trilogy or Jacqueline Koyanagi's Ascension'
NEW YORK TIMES

The Scattered Pearls Belt is a string of habitats under tight military rule . . . where the powerful have become all too comfortable in their positions, and their corruption. But change is coming, with the arrival of Quynh: the mysterious and enigmatic Alchemist of Streams and Hills.

To Minh, daughter of the ruling prefect of the Belt, Quynh represents a chance for escape. To Hoà, a destitute engineer, Quynh has a mysterious link to her own past . . . and holds a deeper, more sensual appeal. But Quynh has her own secret history, and a plan for the ruling class of the Belt. A plan that will tear open old wounds, shake the heavens, and may well consume her.

A beautiful exploration of the power of love, of revenge, and of the wounds of the past, this fast-paced, heartwarming standalone space opera is set against a backdrop of corruption, power, and political scheming in the far reaches of the Xuya universe, also home to the Arthur C. Clarke Award-shortlisted The Red Scholar's Wake.

'A tense, accomplished space opera, told with de Bodard's usual vividness and verve. For my money, it's an even better novel than The Red Scholar's Wake, which I loved'

LOCUS

'De Bodard's worldbuilding dazzles . . . a touching sci-fi romance that will delight fans and new readers alike'
PUBLISHER'S WEEKLY

Product Details

Price
£22.00  £20.90
Publisher
Orion Publishing Co
Publish Date
Language
English
Type
Hardback
EAN/UPC
9781473223431
BIC Categories:

Earn By Promoting Books

Earn money by sharing your favourite books through our Affiliate programme.

Become an Affiliate
We use cookies and similar methods to recognize visitors and remember their preferences. We also use them to help detect unauthorized access or activity that violate our terms of service, as well as to analyze site traffic and performance for our own site improvement efforts. To learn more about these methods, including how to disable them view our Cookie Policy.